The Wendy Wools brand became the sponsor of the BARC Special Saloon Championship on a national level in 1978 and this chapter bring us all the way through the 1980's.

1980 - The format of actually 2 championships in parallel was continued ,cars of up to 1000cc ( 2 classes ) and in the other cars of over 1000cc ( 2 classes ) . Some rounds the 2 championship races ran races separately ,some rounds they were combined. The best 15 rounds from a busy 18-round season would count. Wendy Wools brand owners Carter + Parker put up the prize money and the association would last 10 years and become synonymous with special saloon racing. Typically the winner of the 'big' class ( given the restriction cap of 2500cc ) was £45 per race ( about £220 in today's money ). In comparison the newly-formed Donington GT Championship offered £60 for EACH class winner ( £300 ) and caused some controversy about what the future of modifield club racing in the UK should look like.
Tony Dickinson retained his crown as 2500cc class winner in the ex-Chris Meek /Alex Poole Ray Jessup-built Skoda-Hart with backing from Skoda GB . This 'big' class was poorly supported however .Dickinson winning by 59 points to the 12 of joint runners-up and only occasional visitors Derek Walker and Tony Sugden. Championship winner was the 1300cc man Peter Baldwin in the Marshall Mini Clubman GT-BDA ,known as Baby B6, with 66 points. Baldwin also took the rival BRSCC crown and his class in the Donington GT in a remarkable season.
In the 1000cc Championship Barry Reece ( 850 Mini ) won on a tie-break from Brian Cutting ( Maguire Stiletto 1.0 ) after both won their respective classes on 61 points as comfortable class winners.

1981- With the BRSCC abandoning its championship the Wendy Wools was now the only national championship solely for special saloons. Dickinson won his class for a third time and took the over 1000 Championship winning at least 13 rounds. Baldwin retained his 1300 class title with at least 10 class wins.The 'big' class was still poorly supported with no cars at all at the June Thruxton round but some of you may remember a well contested July round at Mallory. Derek Walker`s yellow Skoda beating Dickinson from the old DFV of Jim Price and Tony Sugden ( Skoda ) after Walter Robertson retired in the Colin Bennett Skoda. Dickinson breaking the lap record in his pursuit with a 104.8mph lap.
Making its debut in the August Snetterton round was the Escort Mark 2 of brothers Steve and Dale Minton ,which is still racing with the CSCC series today.
Mini expert Bill Richards won the 850cc class and the 1000 championship overall.

1982 - Dickinson won the 'big' class for the 4th and final year running ,29 points with dropped scores from Dale Minton`s 20. Peter Baldwin continued his dominance with his 4th consecutive class win at 1300cc . The Cambridge Tuning Engineer for Marshall BL Dealership had taken the ex-Reg Ward Clubman and fitted the special Gordon Allen-built twin overhead cam BDH. With development and Lucas fuel injection it was reaching 200bhp and the driver/car combination was a hugely successful one.
Barry Reece won the 1000 Championship in his Maguire Californian-Hartwell 850 ,62 points to 1000 class winner Viv Wallace in another Maguire interpritation, the Wolseley Hornet spaceframe with 52.

1983 - Was the first year of a single championship 3-class format with the removal of the 850 class. The 'big' class was still poorly supported and Tony Davies in the Transpeed Vauxhall Firenza won from Alan Smith ( Fiesta-Holbay ). Peter Baldwin won the 1300cc for a 5th time in his now orange-painted Clubman , 61 points to Pat Mannion's 43 and 11 more class wins to the tally. Outright winner though was Ginger Marshall ,the first of many in the 1-litre Reliant Kitten estate. This was in fact his 1976 BARC Title winning car ,then bodied as a Mini Traveller using a high quality monocoque built by BA Engineer Brian Davis. This was a rapid combination and often humbled much bigger engined cars with 4 outright race wins that season plus 8 more class wins. At the non-championship Thruxton finale it became the first 1-litre saloon to lap at 100mph. Another 1-litre car to the fore was the Tiga-based Kharman Ghia of Doc Enderby ,rebuilt after its crash in a pile up in a Thruxton GT race late in the previous season which was only its second race. I`m pleased to report that both the Ginger Marshall car and Doc Enderby car are due to be restored over this winter and would be very welcome additions to the CSCC family in 2019.
Besides the racing that season the cars found themselves on TV as the backdrop to a series called 'Driving Ambition' . Peter Baldwin recalled 'The series would use my silhouette race car. The main character was Donna Hewitt ,played by established TV actress Rosemary Martin but as she didn`t have a driving licence i had to drive the car wearing a blond wig !' The Mini was repainted orange for the series and featured the Wendy Wools cars in action at Brands Hatch in Episode 8. 'As you can imagine i got plenty of stick for that,especially the wig'. Doc Enderby and Ginger Marshall played themselves in the episode in a fictitious round 10 with plenty of Wendy Wools references and rather cool orange jackets.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player